The Society draws its membership from the legal profession in Aberdeen and the North East of Scotland.

It is proud to count practising lawyers, supporting professionals, academics and members of the judiciary among its ranks.


The Society exists to promote legal professional expertise and standards in the region and provides an excellent opportunity to network and foster rapport among those who do business with each other on a daily basis.

Society of Advocates concert hall chairs


The origins of the Society can be traced back to the 16th Century and it continues to play an important part in the life of the legal profession in the North East of Scotland.

In 1996 the late Mrs Dorothea Bruce, the Society’s then Executive Secretary published a detailed history of the Society in the Aberdeen University Review. Those wishing to find out more about the Society can read a copy of it here

Many notable events, local, national and international have occurred since the founding of the Society and our timeline shows where we fit among these.

View our timeline
Society of Advocates venue hire cups


The Society provides a range of facilities for Members including:

An extensive library
Photocopying service
Free Wi-Fi
A break room with complimentary tea and coffee

The Library is open Monday to Fridays from 9h30 to 14h30
Outwith these times the building is also available for booked events.


The management of the Society is overseen by the Office Bearers and Committee Members who are elected at the Society’s Annual General Meeting in November each year. The Management Committee is assisted in this by the Executive Team and Sub-Committees.


Office Bearers


Neil Smith

Vice President:

Jane MacEachran

Junior Vice President:

Anne Boyd


James A Florance

Chair of Annuity:

Erlend Flett

Committee Members

Immediate Past President:

Martin Sinclair

Other members:

  • Bruce Craig
  • Julie Clark-Spence
  • Diana Mackenzie
  • Susie Mountain
  • Kimberley MacLennan
  • Lesley McKnight